Baseball: Delco squad caps Tuesday’s Carpenter Cup tripleheader

The Carpenter Cup kicked off Monday, but for fans of Delaware County schools, Tuesday is the big day. All three of the teams with representatives hailing from the county open up play Tuesday in a tripleheader.

It kicks off at 9 a.m. with the Inter-Ac/Independents taking on Berks County (that’s a fun, early-morning drive for them). At 12:30 is the Philadelphia Catholic League tangling with 2013 champs Mercer County. The winner of those two games will square off Friday at 12:30 in the quarterfinals at the UYA Showcase Field.

Delco, which made a rare run to the semifinals last year, takes center stage at UYA Showcase at FDR Park at 4 p.m. when they take on Delaware South. The winner of that contest gets the extra day of rest while Suburban One American/Continental and Chester County do battle Wednesday morning. Delco’s potential quarterfinal game is Friday morning at 10:30 at UYA Ashburn.

Below is the roster of the Delco squad, which looks pretty strong, led by three arms each from Conestoga and Strath Haven. There are 12 seniors in the group, always a major Carpenter Cup challenge, while four sophomores are also represented. Without giving away too much ahead of next week’s All-Delco baseball team, we’ll just say that there’s a fair amount of crossover between the teams.

Also listed (via Ted Silary’s site) are the Delco participants for the Catholics and Inter-Ac squads. For a full bracket, visit the Carpenter Cup website.

Delaware County

Pitchers: Mark Anderson (Conestoga), Tim Miller (Conestoga), Ashton Raines (Strath Haven), David Moore (Strath Haven), Rob Brown (Penncrest), Will Carey (Strath Haven), Matt Eiel (Strath Haven)

Infielders: Jesse Bregman (Harriton), Matt Briner (Penncrest), Liam Bendo (Garnet Valley), AJ Lerro (Upper Darby), Sean Menold (Interboro), Cameron Mathes (Marple Newtown), Ricky Collings (Marple Newtown), Brett Sheeran (Springfield)

Outfielders: Tristan Kevitch (Harriton), James Kantner (Strath Haven), Jonah Siegel (Conestoga), Ben Faso (Garnet Valley), Tom Leonard (Haverford), Jimmy Pisani (Ridley)

Catchers: David Shore (Strath Haven), Drew Fowler (Haverford)

Designated hitters: Nick Gorman (Springfield), Scott Hahn (Marple Newtown)


Haverford School: Bryan Hyland (OF), James McConnon (C), Justin Meyer (IF), Tommy Toal (IF)

Episcopal Academy: Cam Van Hoorebeke (P), Kyle Virbitsky (P/IF)

Catholic League

Archbishop Carroll: Chris Altopiedi (P), JJ Cicala (IF), Jack Daywalt (OF)

Bonner-Prendergast: Nick Bralcyzk (P), Steve Furman (C), Dan Goggin (IF)

Cardinal O’Hara: Chris Salvey (IF/DH)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s