Baseball: Bonner-Prendie’s Bralcyzk named Catholic League pitcher of the year

Nick Bralczyk has mowed through the Catholic League with a 4-1 record and an ERA under one. Wednesday night, that success earned the senior recognition as the Catholic League’s pitcher of the year.

Bonner-Prendergast catcher Steve Furman, left, was named to the All-Catholic first team Wednesday. (Times Staff/ROBERT J. GURECKI)

Bonner-Prendergast catcher Steve Furman, left, was named to the All-Catholic first team Wednesday. (Times Staff/ROBERT J. GURECKI)

Bralczyk joins fellow Friars Steve Furman (catcher) and Dan Goggin (designated hitter) on the Catholic League first team. Also on the first squad is Cardinal O’Hara first baseman Chris Salvey and Archbishop Carroll outfielder Jack Daywalt.

Catholic League MVP Joey Lancellotti of Archbishop Wood is on the first team (since the system makes no sense) twice, as a pitcher and an outfielder.

Below is the full list of first and second teamers. (The Catholic League unified to one division this year, and picking two teams of 24 players each apparently leaves no one to name as honorable mentions.)

Note: All-Catholic teams are selected by league coaches. The Daily Times has no input in the selections.

MVP: Joey Lancellotti, Archbishop Wood

Pitcher of the Year: Nick Bralczyk, Bonner-Prendergast

Manager of the Year: Jim DiGuiseppe, Archbishop Wood

First Team

C: Tommy Nardini, Neumann-Goretti, and Steve Furman, Bonner-Prendergast

1B: Chris Salvey, Cardinal O’Hara, and Sean Kelly, Archbishop Wood

IF: Tom Rosenbaum, Archbishop Wood; Dan Hammer, Father Judge; Noah Clement, Roman Catholic; Ian McIntosh, La Salle; Vinny Vaccone, Neumann-Goretti; Nick Smalley, Lansdale Catholic

OF: Matt McKeown, Neumann-Goretti; Jimmy Herron, La Salle; Joey Lancellotti, Archbishop Wood; Dino Cattai, St. Joseph’s Prep; Jack Daywalt, Archbishop Carroll; Jonathan Stoffere, Roman Catholic

DH: Brian Verratti, Neumann-Goretti, and Dan Goggin, Bonner-Prendergast

P: Nick Bralczyk, Bonner-Prendergast; Dan Hammer, Father Judge; Joey Lancellotti, Archbishop Wood; Gino Tripodi, Neumann-Goretti; Colin Scanlon, St. Joseph’s Prep; Bob Lang, Roman Catholic

Second Team

C: Nick Lafferty, Archbishop Wood, and Andrew Cossetti, La Salle

1B: Lou Testa, Neumann-Goretti, and Brian Buckley, La Salle

IF: Bob Lukaszewski, Cardinal O’Hara; Tyler Clark, St. Joseph’s Prep; Jeff Manto, Conwell-Egan; John Coppola, St. Joseph’s Prep; Ameir Uzzell, Conwell-Egan; Connor McKenna, Roman Catholic

OF: Langston Livingston, La Salle; Paul Curran, Bonner-Prendergast; Anthony Zupito, Archbishop Wood; Greggory Sywulak, La Salle; Nicholas Argentieri, Archbishop Carroll; Nick Lazer, Bonner-Prendergast

DH: Christian DiGalbo, Bonner-Prendergast, and Kevin Bier, Archbishop Carroll

P: JJ Cicala, Archbishop Carroll; Max Frederick, Archbishop Carroll; Sam Naftulin, Father Judge; Ryan Logan, Lansdale Catholic; Justin Rubin, Archbishop Wood; Shane McGrody, Archbishop Ryan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s