Field Hockey: Strath Haven 2014 midfielder Alex Bonser commits to Dickinson

Strath Haven's Alex Bonser has committed to Dickinson. PHOTO COURTESY OF ALEX BONSER

Strath Haven’s Alex Bonser has committed to Dickinson.
PHOTO COURTESY OF ALEX BONSER

When Alex Bonser was a junior, the Strath Haven standout got invited to Dickinson College for a play day, where she went up against and with several of the Red Devils’ current freshmen.

Bonser, a midfielder, more than held her own against players a year older than her, and because of that, she caught the eye of Dickinson coach Caitlin Williams.

“I had a really good connection with them when I had the opportunity to play with them,” Bonser said.

And while Bonser also entertained the idea of playing for Susquehanna and Ithaca, the allure of playing with those she connected with so well proved to be too much for her. That, in turn, led to Bonser committing to Dickinson’s class of 2018.

Bonser wanted to make sure that she did her homework on her three finalists, so she took an overnight visit to all three. But the connection she felt, coupled with the fact that she has family in the Gettysburg area and that the campus isn’t too far from her house, made it a somewhat easy decision for her. Dickinson’s academic reputation didn’t hurt its chances, either.

“Dickinson was the closest and I wanted to stay closer to home,” Bonser said. “I’m not sure what I want to major in, but they have a great undecided program and it’s a really good liberal arts college. My mom’s sister lives 30 minutes away in Gettysburg, so if I ever need anything, I can go there. I can visit her, my family can come to all my games, especially since we play some local schools like Swarthmore and Ursinus, too.”

Bonser initially also drew interest from Quinnipiac and New Hampshire, but decided to go the Division III route. That worked out well for everyone, especially since Williams considered Bonser one of her top recruits after she started recruiting her at the Festival and Disney tournaments during Bonser’s junior year.

“Everything was so positive for Dickinson,” Bonser said. “I’m definitely interested in education and psychology. Education is a minor there, but they’re looking to bring it up to a major. At the same time, I don’t know if I want to be a teacher, so I have options. They haven’t said where they want me to play, but I jelled with them well at midfield, so I’m hoping to stick to midfield.”

Bonser has taken on an added leadership role for a Strath Haven team decimated by graduation. The Panthers (4-4-0, 2-2-0) have gone through their learning moments, but Bonser is confident that they’ll turn things around quickly.

“I’m enjoying being a senior,” said Bonser, who has four goals and two assists. “It’s taking a big leadership on the team, but I like it.”

Bonser is the fifth public Delco 2014 verbal and the first from Strath Haven. The full list of college commitments can be found here. She will join 2011 Daily Times Player of the Year Emily Fuss (Notre Dame) and Newtown Square resident Cait Farrell (Merion Mercy) at Dickinson.

If you’ve recently committed to continuing your athletic career at the collegiate level in any sport and would like to be featured on this blog, please email mchandik@delcotimes.com.

Leave a Reply

