Field Hockey: Garnet Valley 2015 midfielder Jessika Daniels commits to Temple

Garnet Valley midfielder Jessika Daniels, right, committed to Temple. TIMES STAFF/JULIA WILKINSON

Garnet Valley midfielder Jessika Daniels, right, is the first Delco 2015 verbal after she committed to Temple.
TIMES STAFF/JULIA WILKINSON

There were other suitors for her services, but Jessika Daniels more or less knew from the beginning that Temple was the place for her.

“Everyone was just so welcoming when I went there,” the 2015 Garnet Valley midfielder said. “I just fell in love and I felt like part of the team when I went up there for a camp. I just feel like I fit in right away. I knew right away that was the spot.”

Daniels didn’t see any need to waste any time, either, so she issued a verbal commitment to the Owls for their class of 2019.

Daniels is new to playing center-mid after mostly honing her skills on defense, but with the graduation of standout midfielder Eleanor Kirby (Bloomsburg), Jaguars coach Erin Fidler needed someone to step up and fill that massive void. It’s early, but the indicators two games in seem to be that Daniels can more than hold her own.

“I play mostly defense for my club,” said Daniels, who plays for Horizon Field Hockey, after her Jaguars beat Central Bucks East, 4-3, Tuesday night. “I play center defense, so I think I’m going (to Temple) for defense. But I don’t care. Wherever I play, I play. It doesn’t matter. Forward, mid, defense, wherever they want me, I’ll play.”

Taking over for Kirby, a two-time All-Delco, is no easy task, but Daniels seems to be acclimating herself well. Things are different at the midfield than they are at defense, but getting used to it hasn’t been too bad.

“In the beginning of the season, I was really nervous,” Daniels said. “I was always playing left side, so it’s a lot different in the center. But I would talk to (Kirby) a lot. I would text her and would ask her for hints. She would give me tips, so overall, I think I adapted well to it. There are some areas I can work on, but I think overall, I’m getting the hang of it.”

Daniels will join 2013 Archbishop Carroll graduate Michelle Walsh on the Owls’ roster in 2015. Daniels is the first public 2015 Delco verbal commitment. The master list of county commitments can be found here.

If you’ve recently committed to continuing your athletic career in any sport at the collegiate level and would like to be featured on this blog, please email mchandik@delcotimes.com.

One thought on “Field Hockey: Garnet Valley 2015 midfielder Jessika Daniels commits to Temple

  1. Pingback: Field Hockey: Garnet Valley on the hunt for a title |

Leave a Reply

