Boys Basketball: From Glasgow to Chester, Tyrell Sturdivant making a big impact

Tyrell Sturdivant (middle back) is hoping to join his family as college graduates...without paying for school. TIMES STAFF/JULIA WILKINSON

Tyrell Sturdivant (middle back) is hoping to join his family as college graduates…without paying for school.
TIMES STAFF/JULIA WILKINSON

Tyrell Sturdivant blossomed as a junior last year for Glasgow (Del.).

Sturdivant posted sterling averages of 14 points, 12 rebounds and three blocks per game, numbers that jump off the page and speak eloquently about both Sturdivant’s offensive and defensive game.

But the number he might be most proud of is 3.5. That’s the 2014 power forward’s cumulative grade point average and it’s a big reason why he’s already garnered Division I offers from Stony Brook, Fairfield, Florida Atlantic, Delaware and Rider. Oh, those on-court averages don’t hurt either, but his balancing act of books and ball make him an appealing prospect.

“Academics have definitely been stressed in my house,” Sturdivant said. “My older brother Tyrone, my sister Chardae (undergrad at Cheyney) and my mother Tonya all graduated from Widener, so school is a big deal for me.”

Sturdivant stood out on the court and in the classroom for Glasgow, but he’ll be spending his senior season playing for the best program in Pennsylvania history as he takes his skills to Ninth and Barclay. He’ll join Class AAAA runnerup Chester, where he’s likely to thrive in coach Larry Yarbray‘s up-tempo style.

“I think Chester will get me ready for the college level,” Sturdivant said. “The intensity of the practices and the competition will both help me get ready. I’m 6-7, 220 and I love to run the floor. I love to get out in transition because it’s the easiest way to score.”

2014 guard Conrad Chambers is the only returning player who saw extensive action for the Clippers last year, so Sturdivant is walking into a situation where he’ll see extensive minutes and be a prominent part of the Chester offense. That suits him just fine.

“It’s definitely a perfect match,” Sturdivant said. “If we can all get out and run the floor, we can score. We’re definitely taking it one day at a time, but once the chemistry is right and everybody’s on the same page, we can do whatever we want to.”

There aren’t a ton of players that are Sturdivant’s size that can shoot, but to hear him say it, it’s probably not wise to leave him open from inside the 3-point arc.

“I think shooting is one of my big strengths,” Sturdivant said, “and another strength I have is my free-throw shooting. I also have pretty good defense. I think I’m underrated as an on-ball defender because everybody always talks about my shotblocking, but I’m good on the ball, too.”

It won’t be a completely new scene at Chester for Sturdivant, either. Glasgow teammate Mahir Johnson, a 6-2, 175-pound combo guard, is also transferring in to Chester. That will help Sturdivant a lot.

“It makes the transition easier,” Sturdivant said, “especially knowing what he brings to the table. And (the transfer) won’t be a much of a big deal because I already know most of the guys. I’ve played with Conrad before and I definitely think that my experience, with having played varsity for three seasons, will also help those guys out.”

As for his recruitment, Sturdivant, who plays his club ball for We-R-1  said that he’s particularly high on Fairfield and Florida Atlantic. He hasn’t visited the Sunshine State school yet, but plans to take one of his official visits there to check it out.

“I’m just waiting to see if there are more offers, but those two stand out with me with how they connected with me,” Sturdivant said. “I got the best vibe from those two as far as coaching staffs go and my mom likes those two, too.”

As Sturdivant said, it could take a while for the infusion of talent to come together and it’s going to be tough to replace a group that led the Clippers to three straight state title games, including two titles. Two-time Daily Times Player of the Year Rondae JeffersonDarius Robinson and All-Delco Richard Granberry aren’t walking through that door, but in due time, there seems to be little doubt that Chester will be a handful for everyone to deal with.

And it’s a safe bet that Sturdivant will likely be in the middle of it all.

You can follow Tyrell Sturdivant on Twitter at @NoDaysOff_RellHere’s more information on him.

City of Basketball Love recruiting profile and scouting report

ESPN.com recruiting profile

Verbalcommits.com recruiting profile

One thought on “Boys Basketball: From Glasgow to Chester, Tyrell Sturdivant making a big impact

  1. Pingback: Boys Basketball: Chester’s Tyrell Sturdivant commits to Stony Brook |

Leave a Reply

